[Logo] Air Video Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Moderation Log] Moderation Log   [Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Remote Access doesn't work  XML
Forum Index » Air Video Problems and Solutions
Author Message
Admin



Joined: 08/23/2009 08:49:34
Messages: 8705
Offline

Server PIN works through our tracker service. The service knows your computer's name and current public IP address.
speters02



Joined: 06/09/2010 18:19:39
Messages: 3
Offline

I am getting frustrated, probably due to my own lack of knowledge or skills when it coms to networking. I have an iPod Touch and an iPad which, when at home, seem to be able to access the server through my Belkin N+ router and I am able to play videos. However, for the life of me, I can't get remote access to work which is the real reason I bouth the app. Everytime I try, I seem to get different results and error messages. Sometimes I get an "URL Resolve Error", sometimes I get an apologetic "tracker is down" message, and frequently it just sits there until it times out. Regardless of the message, I have yet to have it find my folders via remote access.

I have manually set up the port forwarding for 45631 and I'm guessing I did that right if I am able to get to my folders and videos via w-fi when I am home. Any ideas or things I can try? I am desperately wanting to get the remote access working.
Admin



Joined: 08/23/2009 08:49:34
Messages: 8705
Offline

If you get the message that Tracker service is down it might mean that your internet connection is not working properly. Our tracker service is currently up and running and has been running without interruptions for weeks.
Admin



Joined: 08/23/2009 08:49:34
Messages: 8705
Offline

If you need more assistance I would need the screenshots and log described in first post sent to support (at) inmethod.com
buris



Joined: 06/12/2010 19:41:39
Messages: 3
Offline

Air Video works great for my macbook pro, however on my media server (pc), when I try to enable Access from Internet (beta) the status stays at Looking for UPnP or NAT-PMP compatable device(s)....

could this have something to do with my media server being the dmz host or being run as a web server?
Admin



Joined: 08/23/2009 08:49:34
Messages: 8705
Offline

UPnP discovery can be tricky. However if the media server is in DMZ no port forwarding should be necessary.
schalling



Joined: 06/13/2010 23:33:53
Messages: 3
Offline

Hi

Same problem as everybody else. Works with WiFi, but not over 3G.
I've tested UPnP but i got error code nr7, no NAT-PMP support. And now I've been testing with manual portforwarding.
And when i push "Test connection" now i got no errors and it says its accesible from internet.
This is my remote log when I tried to connect



2010-06-13 23:40:41 PortMapperAction: Scheduling task PortMapperAction$2 (15831407)
2010-06-13 23:40:41 StatusReportAction: Scheduling task StatusReportAction$2 (10630672)
===================================================================================================
2010-06-13 23:40:41 StatusReportAction: Submitting status report:
2010-06-13 23:40:41 StatusReportAction: - PIN: 648866XXX, BonjourName: Macbook Pro, Addresses: [10.37.129.2:45631] [10.211.55.2:45631] [192.168.0.10:45631] [null:45631]
2010-06-13 23:40:42 StatusReportAction: - Done (detected external IP 95.209.206.25)
2010-06-13 23:40:42 StatusReportAction: Scheduling task StatusReportAction$1 (24833256)


And no errors there, but i still got the "URL resolver error - server is not reachable"

any ideas?
Admin



Joined: 08/23/2009 08:49:34
Messages: 8705
Offline

Did you use server pin to pair iphone client with your server?
schalling



Joined: 06/13/2010 23:33:53
Messages: 3
Offline

Hi

yes I did, but it seems like they (mac & phone) never communicating with eachother. After i tried to connecting over the phone it doesn't say something in the remote log. Weird...

Arrrgh i just want it to work
schalling



Joined: 06/13/2010 23:33:53
Messages: 3
Offline

I have a Dovado UMR router.

http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/DOVADO/UMR_Broadband/Air_Video.htm

It seems like I need a static IP adress, but when I do that in Snow Leopard my internet connection dies and it doesn't work.
Does it work if instead of 'manual' setting i choose 'Use DHCP with manual adress'?

I'm not that good with networks 'n shit
Admin



Joined: 08/23/2009 08:49:34
Messages: 8705
Offline

You can use it with DHCP, but it that case your computer's IP address *might* change over time requiring the forwarding to be updated.
jmurray1004



Joined: 06/25/2010 03:59:07
Messages: 1
Offline

I am having trouble with remote access. I port forwarded to 45631 and it worked great for two weeks. Two days ago it just stopped working. Could someone please help me? Thank you
bobw409



Joined: 06/25/2010 04:46:39
Messages: 1
Offline

I too seem to be having the same problems discussed within this thread. Here's my situation... I am currently connected to my home wi-fi service. My remote access works with no problems. The program finds my folder and all the movies within that folder. As soon as I connect to my iTouch to a VPN client, the program no longer can find my folder. I am continually getting a "tracker service seems to be down" message. Now, I do know that other people that I work with have been able to connect to their Air Video servers through this same VPN Client so I don't believe there is a firewall blocking access. What else could be the problem? Could there be an issue with connecting to my work VPN while still using my home wi-fi? I have not tried connecting through my work wi-fi, but I don't believe it would make a difference. However, what do I know right? Ha Ha.

I have also set up port forwarding as described. Upnp and NAT are both enabled. Is there something else I should be doing?

Thank you,
-Bob
Admin



Joined: 08/23/2009 08:49:34
Messages: 8705
Offline

It's usually not possible to get remote access working with VPN active. VPN tends to redirect all traffic through a VPN server.
ziploc1010



Joined: 06/30/2010 01:06:55
Messages: 1
Offline

Hi I cannot get remote access working.
When I click on test connection, it says:
"Your Air Video Server instance is NOT accessible from the internet"

I am running Windows 7 on a linksys WRT54GS router.
I tried manually port forwarding with port 45631, but that did not work either.
I am running Air Video Server 2.2.7
 
Forum Index » Air Video Problems and Solutions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team