[Logo] Air Video Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Moderation Log] Moderation Log   [Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
No AirPlay video streaming using iOS 4.3  XML
Forum Index » Air Video Problems and Solutions
jschuur

I just tried the latest Air Video iPad client update that added AirPlay support, but my Apple TV 2 only plays back the audio of the video, and not the video. If I select the airplay icon in the client's video player, there's a speaker icon next to the iPad and Apple TV 2 options, which presumably means it's going to only stream the audio.

AirPlay with the YouTube player on the other hand displays a screen icon next to the Apple TV 2 destination option and will send both video and audio just fine.

I'm a registered iOS developer, and I'm running the 4.3 GM seed on the iPad, as well as the most recent AppleTV firmware beta update to go along with it. However, even in the past, I've noticed that other third party apps like the Al-Jazeera one would only stream audio too, even before I began to run 4.3 firmware pre-releases.

I know that iOS 4.3 adds third party support for AirPlay, so I assumed that running the GM along with the new Air Video release and Apple TV beta firmware should make it all work, but no such luck. Is this not yet fully supported in the recent release?

There is some older discussion here and here from people not getting video to stream too, but it doesn't sound like they were running iOS 4.3.
Admin

Have you tried restarting the Apple TV? Or disabling and enabling Air Play on it. We can't really do anything about the discovery, it is handled by the media player component and it seems to have some quirks still.
jschuur

I just tried power cycling the Apple TV 2 and explicitly disabling and reenabling AirPlay on it, but still no video support.