[Logo] Air Video Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Moderation Log] Moderation Log   [Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Problem accessing videos  XML
Forum Index » Air Video Problems and Solutions
Author Message
dreamchaser



Joined: 11/15/2009 12:07:23
Messages: 4
Offline

I can access my server through the phone, I get a read on the files but when I try playback it seems to load until it times out. Sometimes Alternatively I sometimes get an "Unexpected Error" that can then be reported. I also cannot see the thumbnails on the video files. I've checked my permissions and everything seems to be in order with the directories I try to share via the server. Some of these are local and some are elsewhere on the local network but neither appear to work. Should the conversion start automatically when you play a file or do you have to set that up manually?

I have an iPhone 3G S with latest firmware on Windows Vista Enterprise Edition SP2.

Thank you in advance,
Erik
Admin



Joined: 08/23/2009 08:49:34
Messages: 8705
Offline

Hi,

what server version do you use?

It is possible that Apple Bonjour (service that Air Video uses to discover computers on local network) doesn't work with your network. This can happen sometimes although it's rather rare. You can try using server PIN to pair Air Video client with your server:

* In Air Video Server Remote tab check "Enable Access from Internet" and uncheck "Automatic Port Mapping" (which is not needed to connect over local network).
* In Air Video iPhone client tap "+" to add new server, chose "Enter Server Pin" and enter the pin displayed in server properties Remote tab.

Conversion start when you tap "Convert". Live conversion starts when you tap "Play with live conversion". However for both of these you would need to have thumbnails working. Can you post here the thumbnail generation log? (available on the logs tab). Also conversion and live conversion logs could be helpful if there are any.
dreamchaser



Joined: 11/15/2009 12:07:23
Messages: 4
Offline

Thanks for the quick reply.

I'm using server version 2.1.7. Apple Bonjour seems to be running unhindered among my services, according to the task manager. I tried connecting via the PIN-pairing and it seemed to connect like before but the problem remained.

The thumbnails still won't appear, here's the log for that. There were no other logs recorded.

start of log.

SnapshotCache: Loaded existing Snapshot Index BTree with with 0 items.
===============================================================================================================

===============================================================================================================

===============================================================================================================

===============================================================================================================

===============================================================================================================

===============================================================================================================

end of log.

I also tried opening up the slot used in my router and set my firewall to allow that connection but the problem remaind unsolved.
Admin



Joined: 08/23/2009 08:49:34
Messages: 8705
Offline

Can you try last server beta?

http://www.inmethod.com/forum/posts/list/323.page

try to browse the videos again and look if there is something new in thumbnail generation log.
dreamchaser



Joined: 11/15/2009 12:07:23
Messages: 4
Offline

Tried the beta and the problem is basically the same, though with a bit more info in the thumbnails log:

SnapshotCache: Exception during SnapshotCache initialization: Invalid SnapshotCache Version
SnapshotCache: Trying to close index and data files
SnapshotCache: Created new Snapshot Index BTree
Thumbnail: >>5821474876F4A4BE6B69747C697A76475A72694D727F7E74487E696D7E69477D7D766
B7E7C357E637E3B3668683B222B2B352B3B366D7D697A767E683B2A3B36723B5D2147475F746C7577
747A7F68474758736E787035482B295E2A2835484C5E484E5935535F4F4D35436D725F3676726F74357A6D723B367D3B76716B7E7C3B36<<

===============================================================================================================
Thumbnail: >>5821474876F4A4BE6B69747C697A76475A72694D727F7E74487E696D7E69477D7D766B7E7C357E
637E3B3668683B222B2B352B3B366D7D697A767E683B2A3B36723B5D2147475F746C7577747A7F68
7475E756F746E697A7C7E35482B2D5E2B28352C292B6B35535F4F4D3543292D2F365F52565E55485254553576706D3B367D3B76716B7E7C3B36<<

===============================================================================================================
Thumbnail: >>5821474876F4A4BE6B69747C697A76475A72694D727F7E74487E696D7E69477D7D766B7E7C357E637
E3B3668683B222B2B352B3B366D7D697A767E683B2A3B36723B5D2147475F746C7577747A7F6847475F
693553746E687E35487E7A687475354B7A787035482B28352C292B6B3563292D2F474753746E687E35482
B285E292F352C292B6B35535F4F4D3563292D2F36584F4E474773746E687E35682B287E292F352C292B6B3
5737F6F6D3563292D2F36786F6E3576706D3B367D3B76716B7E7C3B36<<

===============================================================================================================
Thumbnail: >>5821474876F4A4BE6B69747C697A76475A72694D727F7E74487E696D7E69477D7D766B7E7C357E637E3B36
68683B222B2B352B3B366D7D697A767E683B2A3B36723B5D2147475F746C7577747A7F6847475D7A76727762
355C6E6235482B235E2B29355D7A76727762355C7462354B5F4F4D35436D725F365D4A5647477D7A76727762
357C6E6235682B237E2B29356B7F6F6D35636D727F367D6A76357A6D723B367D3B76716B7E7C3B36<<

===============================================================================================================

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 11/15/2009 13:04:37

Admin



Joined: 08/23/2009 08:49:34
Messages: 8705
Offline

Okay, I think i can see the problem. What folder did you install Air Video in? It seems to have unicode characters in it's name, is that right? Due to certain problems with unicode support in Windows Air Video might not work right if installed in such folder. (Usually it is installed in C:\Program Files\ which doesn't cause such issues). Can you try to install it to different folder?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 11/15/2009 13:04:54

dreamchaser



Joined: 11/15/2009 12:07:23
Messages: 4
Offline

Yes that did it, works like a charm!

Thank you, excellent support here I must say.
 
Forum Index » Air Video Problems and Solutions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team